Site original : OccultBlackMetalZine
⇐ retour index

Angstskrig/Skyggespil/Despotz Records/2021 Full Length Review

jeudi 22 avril 2021 à 03:20


  Angstskrig  are  a  duo  form  Denmark  that  plays  a  very  aggressive  form  of  black  metal  and  this  is  a  review  of  their  2021  album  "Skyggespil"  which  will  be  released  in  May  by  Despotz  Records.

  A  very  dark,  heavy  yet  melodic  sound  starts  off  the  album  while  all  of  the  musical  instruments  on  the  recording  also  have  a  very  powerful  sound  to  them.  Vocals  are  mostly  angry  sounding  black  metal  screams  along  with  the  guitar  solos  and  leads  also  adding  in  a  great  amount  of  melody  and  half  of  the  tracks  are  also  very  long  and  epic  in  length.

  Elements  of  black'n'roll  can  also  be  heard  in  the  mid  tempo  sections  of  the  songs  while  the  music  is  more  rooted  in  a  modern  Nordic  style.  When  the  music  speeds  up  a  decent  amount  of  tremolo  picking  and  blast  beats  can  be  heard  which  also  gives  the  songs  more  of  a  raw  feeling  along  with  a  couple  of  the  tracks  also  adding  in  a  brief  use  of  clean  vocals  and  keyboards.

  Throughout  the  recording  you  can  also  hear  a  decent  mixture  of  slow,  mid  paced  and  fast  parts  along  with  one  track  also  adding  in  a  brief  use  of  classical  guitars  as  well  as  some  songs  also  adding  in  session  work  from  members  of  Soilwork,  Finntroll,  Kreator,  Hypocrisy,  DragonForce  and  Satyricon  and  as  the  album  progresses  a  brief  use  of  growls  can  also  be  heard,  a  small  amount  of  clean  playing  is  also  added  on  the  closing  song.  The  production  sounds  very  professional  while  the  lyrics  are  written  in  Danish  and  cover  Darkness,  Horror  and  Luciferian  themes.

  In  my  opinion  Angstskrig  are  a  very  great  sounding  aggressive  black  metal  duo  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  this  musical  genre,  you  should  check  out  this  album.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "Uhygge"  and  "Knaefald".  8  out  of  10.

Source :